some insights about yoga

IMG_1837

Here I am again, back home and back to writing…after almost three months pause, I am back to my computer. The reason for my silence was a trip to Thailand and Myanmar (Burma). This summer I decided to study in depth Yoga, one of my passions, so went first to get my 200hr TTC in Chiang Mai at Wise Living Yoga a school associated to the Yoga Institute of Mumbaiand after that I did a 10 days Vipassana meditation retreat in Mandalay, Burma. It was a very enriching experience where I had the chance to meet wonderful people who taught me a full amount of Yoga philosophy, spirituality, self-awareness and healthy lifestyle in a very modest, sincere and wise way.

IMG_1886

Some of the insights that my journey has taught me:

– Yoga is a spiritual system with a physical component.

Swami Vivekananda says “To the worker, it is union between men and the of humanity; to the mystic, between his lower and Higher Self; to the lover, union between himself and the God of love; and to the philosopher, it is union of all existence. This is what is meant by Yoga.”

– There are four traditional schools or paths of Yoga; Jnana, Bhakti, Karma and Raja yoga.

– The goal of Yoga is Yoga.

– Meeting different types of yogis made me realize that physical exercise is not necessary to be considered a yoga practitioner.

– The idea of impermanence, during my journey, I was sometimes worried about the unknown, but then I embraced impermanence in a ever-changing situation during 2months, thinking how fears are actually distractions of the mind. Keep reminding myself that everything, everybody and feelings are transitory. No fear should stop you from doing what you want to do! I like to refer to the Buddhas first noble truth.

– “Observe yourself” with this practise I have soon realised not only my own self, also how I am related to the World. As more you practise meditation as more awareness you gain and even the most insignificant action is full of meaning.

2013-08-26 18.55.06-2

– Yoga can teach everybody universal ethical and moral ways of life, that should be taught to children and youngsters so that they can grow up within a harmonious and peaceful loving environment. Patanjali Yoga Sutra I.33 Maitri karuna mudita upeksanam sukha duhkha punya apunya visayanam bhavanatah cittaprasadanam

– You look at people as your friends, your family, and all of them as an extension of yourself…what you desire for yourself you want for others.

Here below…one of my room mates, a vietnamese nun, we hardly could communicate but her warm and serene look talked to me.

vietnamese nun

– Only you know the answer. It is deep inside yourself, be alert and listen to it. If you are quiet for some time, suddenly and without warning, knowledge will fill your mind, your path will be clear. You will be able to see the bottom where before muddy water was covering it.

– Never forget to be thankful, first of all to God (Buddha or any deity you believe) and equal important to your parents (your creators), your husband or life partners, family, friends, teachers and any person that goes with in your personal journey.

ninamirando

My next goal is to do a Yoga for Kids workshop, as soon as I have my lesson plan I will share it with you, and maybe someone can give me some good tips how to improve it. Last but not least the photo down here is a view from my room at the meditation center at 5.30am, a  a majestic view over the Irrawaddy river, Burma was delighting me every morning. May all beings be happy, may all beings be in peace.

Thanks for sharing this time with me. Namaste!

4 comments

  1. Very very beautiful write-up. Such nice words and deep insight. Keep walking on the path. Namaste

  2. THis is beautiful and such lovely pictures! Thank you for sharing your experience. 😉

Leave a Reply

